Joint Western Arun Area Committee

The following decisions were taken by the Joint Western Arun Area Committee on Wednesday, 6 February 2019 and will take effect after the end of the call-in period unless the call-in procedure is triggered. **The call-in deadline is set out in the decision text below**.

The following represents a summary of the Executive decisions taken by the Joint Western Arun Area Committee which are subject to call-in. It is not intended to represent the formal record of the meeting but to facilitate the call-in process. The formal minutes will be published in due course. The reports considered and any interests declared are listed on the meeting webpage.

County Council members wishing to request a call-in of any of these matters should contact Jack Caine on 033 022 28941.

Community Initiative Funding (WA06(18/19)) (Item No. 10)

The following pledges were approved for applications to CIF submitted via Spacehive:

284/JWAAC – 4Sight Vision Support, Space 4 Sight – up to £2213.00 – Towards purchasing equipment for people living with sight loss.

286/JWAAC – Bognor Bike Community CIC, Bognor Bike Recycling, up to £3763 – Towards purchasing additional bike parts to launch the project.

323/JWAAC – Eastergate Village Hall, Community Kitchen, Eastergate Hall – up to £4684 – Towards funding a kitchen refurbishment and installing a double over, gas hob and new counter.

The call-in deadline for this decision is the 14 February.

Authority School Governors (WA07(18/19)) (Item No. 11)

The function of the nomination of school governors to maintained schools and academies is delegated to County Local Committees (CLCs) as it enables county councillors to maintain a valuable link with the schools and helps promote to the wider public the important role of school governors.

Under the Education Act 2011 local authority governors are nominated by the local authority but appointed by the governing body. The CLC can nominate any eligible person as a local authority governor, but it is for the governing body to decide whether their nominee has the skills to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school and meets any other eligibility criteria they have set.

At its meeting on 6 February 2019 the Joint Western Arun Area Committee approved the following nominations under the 2012 Regulations:

Joint Western Arun Area Committee

- Mrs Rebecca Peters to Aldingbourne Primary School for a further four year term.
- Ms Rachel Ayuba to Bersted Green Primary School for a four year term.
- Mrs Christine Porter to Walberton and Binstead C of E Primary School for a four year term.

The call-in deadline for this decision is the 14 February.